top of page
  • Ảnh của tác giảSquadgifts Store

Squadgifts - Official july 11th 2023 bruce springsteen and the e-street band parken copenhagen denma

By and large, musicians are popular because people like their music. No one can predict with complete certainty what people are going to like or why; if they could, the Official july 11th 2023 bruce springsteen and the e-street band parken copenhagen denmark shirt and I love this music industry would be bigger than the petroleum industry. This is a really good question, although it has a flaw, and the flaw is in the vagueness of the word ‘superior’. I think it deserves a detailed answer, but I’m aware that I tend to go on a bit, so I’ll try to keep it concise. Note: anyone objecting that ‘classical music’ should refer only to music of the classical era–yeah, you know what, we’ve been calling it all ‘classical music’ since the 19th century, long before ‘baroque music’ stopped being an insult. Please leave your pedantry at the door. The late English writer and art critic John Berger had a very bracing attitude towards the idea of quality in art. He himself wrote about a wide variety of visual art, not music, but he came at it from a very particular perspective. In a TV documentary, he once delivered an opinion which struck me as clearing away an awful lot of the confusion about notions of quality. I’m paraphrasing because I saw it years ago, but the gist of what he said was: I have no interest in talking about X’s art in terms of its ‘quality’. The ranking of works of art seems to me an idle game. What matters is that art answers a need.



To some musicians, it makes sense to say that classical music is superior to rock music, or any kind of popular music. Classical music is more difficult to learn how to play. Classical compositions are more complex than popular music tends to be. Musicians who play classical music, or just anyone who loves and admires it, can get emotionally invested in the Official july 11th 2023 bruce springsteen and the e-street band parken copenhagen denmark shirt and I love this idea that its complexity and depth make it better than popular music. But music is just a complex and sensuous and abstract way of sharing experience. Different kinds of music share different kinds of experience in different ways. If I’m feeling bad, and I want cheering up, and I ask you to send me an encouraging email, I want an encouraging email, dammit. I don’t want to read your epic alternate history novel. I might want to read it another time, but that’s a different need.


2 lượt xem0 bình luận

Commentaires


bottom of page