top of page
  • Ảnh của tác giảSquadgifts Store

Squadgifts - Nice s new it’s fagsy 2023 shirt

I’m here, as a subject expert in “established norms in music,” to tell you that rap is music. It’s sort of astonishing to me that I even need to say this, but after reading many comments on Habib F’s absolutely wonderful answer, it’s come to my attention that many of you disagree with the Nice s new it’s fagsy 2023 shirt What’s more,I will buy this objective fucking truth: that rap is music. The standard critique of rap as music is that it lacks melody. Cool. Please sing for me the melody of the most famous section of Stravinsky’s famous The Rite of Spring, called the Augurs of Spring (audio below, if you don’t know what I’m talking about). Can’t do it? I didn’t think so. Whole genres of music are built without melody. Would you consider minimalist music not to be music? How about percussion music? And even on traditionally pitched/melodic instruments; think about the way solo banjo is played, or bagpipe music. Is anyone asking on Quora whether bagpipes count as music? (BTW, for those of you considering a cheapshot in the comments against bagpipes, that’s fair, but actually high-level bagpipe music is really cool).



“It’s not that it lacks melody,” I hear you say, “it’s that it lacks pitch and tone!” In the Nice s new it’s fagsy 2023 shirt What’s more,I will buy this examples I give, those are all pitched instruments. Funny you should say this, because human voices rapping also have pitch and timbre. Have you ever considered why we can tell the difference between DMX rapping and Jay Z? The difference is far more extreme than the difference between a bassoon and an oboe—it’s not just pitch and expression, it’s a huge timbral shift. I’ve also heard the argument that it’s not about what’s embedded in rap, it’s about what rap is famous for: the fact that people like rap overwhelmingly for its use of text makes it not music. Cool. So does Bob Dylan still count as music, even though his music is almost 100% about text?


1 lượt xem0 bình luận

Comentarios


bottom of page