top of page
  • Ảnh của tác giảSquadgifts Store

Squadgifts - Miami Dolphins May the fourth be with You shirt

I fell off the Miami Dolphins May the fourth be with You shirt Furthermore, I will do this monkey bars at school and broke my ankle and several other kids I knew had injuries from various kinds of playground equipment but our parents, instead of screaming for safer equipment just told us to be more careful next time, and we were. Houses frequently went unlocked day and night. Where I grew up our summers were extremely hot and it was quite common to go to bed at nights with all the doors and windows wide open to allow the cooler night air to circulate. Kids were allowed to leave home earlier and live independently. Quite a lot of young people of my generation travelled overseas on their own from ages as young as 15 or 16. One of my aunts moved to England when she was 17 and back then nobody even raised an eyebrow. She originally only intended to visit and travel round the UK and Europe, but when she decided to stay neither her family nor anyone else thought twice about it. So although it wasn’t actually safer in reality, the fact is we didn’t even think of our lives in terms of “safe” or “unsafe”, so in that respect we certainly had a lot more freedom and didn’t suffer from modern day angst about personal safety. It was not a question we would have even asked ourselves.



I was surprised by some of the Miami Dolphins May the fourth be with You shirt Furthermore, I will do this comments. I was born in 1963, so I am writing from the perspective of a little girl and focusing on what was most different from today. I grew up in a lower middle class neighborhood in a small southern city. It was definitely not Mayberry and I most certainly did not have an idyllic childhood. While there are things I remember fondly from the 1960s, I certainly wouldn’t want to live there. I do, however, really miss beautiful manners and beautiful clothes. I am 78 years old. My formative years were in the 50’s. Graduated from high school in Jan 1957 and was drafted in 1959. Most of my friends grew up in the 1950’s and are all glad we did. We were born into a world where the U S was the free world’s hero. Our fathers had fought to save Europe from Nazi Germany and rescued much of the East from Japan. Our economy was booming and union manufacturing jobs and the interstate system were leading the way to middle class home ownership in the new suburbia. Our music was sha-boom, doo-wop and rock and roll. There were no lyrics about bitches and hos. We picked up our dates at the door and were generally respectful. My family was not rich. My mother was a school secretary and my father had a small restaurant he ran by himself and with 2 employees 7 days a week. I had part time jobs from the time I was 14 and never felt the world owed me a thing. Certainly their were inequities in our society but the number of children born to single mothers was far less than today among all classes and races. The question itself presupposes an inaccurate description of life in general 1950’s.


1 lượt xem0 bình luận

Comentários


bottom of page